CNBOICE

Because when CNBLUE meets Boice, it creates CNBOICE.

CNBLUE Excite Interview

Leave a comment

excite10

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

CNBLUE released their 5th single “Blind Love”. The title song is a love song that has a medium tempo and is composed by Lee Jonghyun. The lyrics draw painful feelings leaving in one’s heart. The four-on-the-floor rhythm, which are bearing a comfortable groove, the hidden “heat” is conspicuous by the regularity of that rhythm. Cool and warm, stillness and movement… such a comparison produces dynamism. It’s characteristic for CNBLUE. Eventhough the dearest person isn’t in front of me now, when I closed my eyes, she emerged in my eyes. Jonghyun told about this feeling ‘Everyone surely has one each.’ This is an “opened” song because the listeners themselves can sympathize in piles. We asked them about this single during their visit at the height of the world tour.

excite29

Excite: Making such a love song as a single is the first time for CNBLUE. Jonghyun-san made the lyrics and music, what did you imagine when you began to compose this?

Jonghyun: When I think which song is good, it’s spring after all, so I thought it should be a love song. I made this while thinking that everyone surely has one dear memory like this lyrics. Furthermore, I currently think our fans become glad to hear this song, but also other people will feel ‘This song is good’ when they listen to it. I wanted to make such a song.

Excite: Did you mean that you had the thought ‘I want to spread CNBLUE’s music more’ ?

Jonghyun: Yes. Some people don’t like rock music, but I wanted to make a song so that even if they listen to it, they can feel ‘good’.

Excite: You do compose while playing the guitar, don’t you?

Jonghyun: Yes. In the dressing room of an award ceremony at the end of last year. It was so harried because of many people…

Excite: Your concentration is great to make a song when you’re out of your room.

Jonghyun: I often to do so.

excite31

Excite: When other members listened to this song for the first time, what impression did they have?

Jungshin: When I listened to it for the first time, it wasn’t decided that this song would be the title song yet, but I wished this song would be title song. I felt the medium tempo sounded good. Until now, many of our songs are about a dream or hope, but this song is about love, and we can feel a sign of spring. I felt comfortable when I listened to it.

Minhyuk: Honestly t was  hard to choose which song makes a title song. All songs are good and have each own atmosphere. Both ‘Blind Love’ and ‘With your eyes’ are songs which are created by Jonghyun hyung’s sensibility and these styles are like Jonghyun hyung. ‘Blind Love’ is also the song which is gaining attraction at the live concert. We usually feel music with only the ears, but we can feel several feelings and effective lighting at the live concert. The song has such an attraction.

Jonghyun: Such a love song was included in our previous albums. I had a time where only I sing, but I thought ‘How about Yonghwa hyung’s singing?’ so I tried it once.

Yonghwa: This song doesn’t have a high key, so I could sing this easily. I sang it sadly with the feeling of loss during recording. I sing while remembering this feeling at the lives.

Jonghyun: In fact, at first  I worried. Yonghwa hyung hasn’t sung many of this kind of songs and I’m better at up-tempo songs than such kind of songs. So I worried ‘What if this song doesn’t match us?’ We didn’t need worries like this because this song was exactly for us. I felt so good.

Jonghyun: This song is a love song, but it is drawn in painfulness, it’s not to ‘like’, or for fun and excitement, as if feelings stay in my memories, so one can’t go anywhere else.

*Jungshin: Nostalgic is color of this song. The lyrics originally were like ‘when the cherry blossoms have fallen, I’ll always remember’, but I changed it on my way. I wanted to write a simpler lyrics this time.

excite34

Excite: ‘With your eyes’ is also made by Jonghyun-san.

Jonghyun: This lyric has a strong power. We are still young, so It’s wrong to positively say ‘My life is like this!’ I don’t know it yet, so I meant ‘Let’s find it together’, anyway my life is mine, so we look at it through my eyes.

Jungshin: I love the guitar solo part of this song! I remained until the end of the recording to look at it. I thought it’s different from Jonghyun hyung’s phrase until now, is this a challenge!? This new style is really nice, so I always listen to this part now.

Excite: ‘Look with your eyes!’ I felt this is a strong massage to the society. Were you able to feel sympathy?

Yonghwa: I’m against looking with my eyes! We should feel with our mind!

Jonghyun: Hahaha Both are the same. Only the face has eyes, this message is ‘Look at the things in yourself.’

Yonghwa: You meant ‘Look with your eyes and feel it!’? I correctly know this haha.

Excite: Did you ever had a situation where you thought ‘Look with your eyes more and think!’ to anyone?

Minhyuk: I think whoever has one whom I want to tell one in my life. So this lyrics tell to everyone.

Jonghyun: I have listened to music which have messages like this, it gave me a power. I had thought ‘I want to make someday.’ and I tried this time. I think I should make such music that has a theme about life when I get much older, but I was surprised it started much earlier than I thought. I don’t know ‘What is my life’ yet, so this song include hopes ‘Let’s think together’.

excite25

Excite: ‘Greedy man’ was composed by Yonghwa-san. When was it born?

Yonghwa: This is a new song for this single.

Excite: I felt its well ventilated from fresh guitar cutting.

Yonghwa: I came up with its part for the first time. Thanks for it, I make this song from first to end. I wanted to make a simple song not especial showy. So both what I made as a demo and finished product is not different so much. In my  case, many  demo and arrange don’t have different so much.

Minhyuk: While he made the song, I listened to all parts of song in a day. From then I had known atmosphere of this song, finally completed just like first song. I’ve liked this song very much.

Yonghwa: I wanted to compose simple sound, but I wanted to write beautiful love story as lyrics.

Excite: Does it have any relation in between (Blind Love and Greedy Man) what ‘Blind Love’ lyrics is also sadly?

Jonghyun: No, not at all.

Yonghwa: I didn’t care  at all.

Jonghyun: I didn’t know other’s lyrics until it completed. I looked at his lyrics at recording for the first time.

Yonghwa: I’d written lyrics until right before  recording day. I thought sound is simple, so I write interesting lyrics, everyone can feel the real pleasure.

Excite: These 3 attractive  songs have each different personality. How do you want to give opinion to this single?

Yonghwa: Maybe everyone can listen to it with comfort and calm feeling. Our previous songs had a deep color, this single is what many people can listen with comfortable feeling. Anyway I want everyone to listen to many CNBLUE’s songs.

Jonghyun: We are ordinary  band, which has wide music. Please listen to our music!

excite24

Excite: You’ll hold Zepp tour in summer after 2 yearsinterval. Please let us know your enthusiasm.

Jonghyun: We hold world tour now, so I thought we are too busy to hold Zepp tour. But we promised ‘We’ll hold many lives’ last year, so we want to meet you and we decided to!

Jungshin: Please look forward to Zepp tour. Please come, please!

Excite: Are you going to do impromptu corner like at Saitama super arena?

Jonghyun: No, we can’t do that anymore!

All: hahaha

Yonghwa: I started to do it, Minhyuk and Jungshin got nervous ‘Perhaps what do we do?’ I’m sure they thought so while I was doing.

Jungshin: That’s right!

Minhyuk: Yonghwa hyung felt pressure to do it alone, so he suddenly spoke to us. So I always listen his word carefully. I don’t enjoy it!

Jungshin: I look someone who is singing  with my eyes, but I absolutely concentrate to think in my brain!

Yonghwa: But if in I’m good feeling, maybe I can do. I don’t think melody especially, I sing words which I came up with before 0.1 second. I feel pressure if I think ‘I have to do’, but if I have comfortable feeling, I can do it. Because I’m genius! haha

All: …haha

Jungshin: I’m sorry~!

Excite: I’m looking forward to it!

excite9

[My旬] [Mean : My Fashion]

We asked them about their favorite thing in what you bought these days!

excite14

Basketball shoes – Yonghwa

White and navy blue basketball shoes. I bought it with Jungshin. But our interest are a little different, so we buy what we want to buy each other without talk. I think a little, then decide to buy. Before I bought so many things, some of them are what I wore only once. That’s why I became careful. Previously I liked shopping, now too. But I don’t think so ‘need’. I have so many things I want to buy.

excite13

Meat – Jonghyun
My best buying is food. What I buy almost meat. My habit is paying money when I eat with someone, so meat costs most of the money. That’s cost of meal. My habit is to treat someone. People from Busan are so, Yonghwa hyung, too. I don’t like to walk, so I don’t like window-shopping. My favorite style is uniform. I buy jacket and shoes and pants when I need these. I often wore T-shirt in summer, so I train my body. Whatever T-shirt  match , I train. It’s easier than thinking clothes I wear (he means rather than mix and match his outfit he’s likes more to match his body with the T-shirt he wears, good point).

excite12

A denim jacket – Kang Minhyuk

I bought denim jacket with nice detail. It’s usual comfortable jacket and not gaudy. I’ll try and fit it to various clothes. When I go shopping, my most important point is members’ advises. In case of buying expensive things, I especially ask members. I trust Yonghwa hyung’s advise the most. We have different interest but his advise is useful because he knows my style.

excite17

A jacket, pants and shoes – Lee Jungshin

I went shopping with members in Japan and I bought jacket and pants and shoes. A denim jacket has cool gold studs. Black pants has rare silver studs on back pocket. I bought basketball shoes, which I’m into these day. The color is purple and blue. Most important point when I buy clothes is whether it matches with me or not. So mirror in shop is important. I don’t care about any others’ idea. To be honest, even if others tell ‘It doesn’t match’, I buy it. I have my own style. As I get older, my fashion seems to be getting younger. I like comfortable fashion such as a hood or basketball shoes.

excite8

 

*Editor and Translator’s note: the * part it should be Jonghyun’s word but on the excite music it’s definately written as Jungshin, so maybe they did mistake on that. You mau confuse since Jungshin did not wrote the lyric but Jonghyun.

Source excite music

Trans by Satsuki @cnboice

Edited by Tara Lee & Linda @cnboice

Posted by Tara Lee @cnboice/bpb decoded

Author: tara lee

Author @StorialCo and AsianFanfiction. Founder Mr. Galaxy Fanfan House and CNBOICE, co Admin @Indonesianboice. Find my books The Stars | In Between | Through the Lens | Burning Melody at nulisbuku.com Find me @lanhudiee

Leave a Reply

