CNBOICE

Because when CNBLUE meets Boice, it creates CNBOICE.

CNBLUE Oricon Style ‘Lady’ Interview

Leave a comment

CNBLUE was holding Zepp tour released the 6th single “Lady”. They looked back over their school days and talked about how they spent holiday or summer vacation this time.

oricon style lady3

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Made it with imagining we play it in live concerts

-Your 6th single “Lady” was complete. Please tell me a main point when listening to ‘Lady’.
Jungshin: I’m in charge of the bass, so the point is my bass line (laugh). It took from 9 pm to 5 am for recording this song because we thought many things back then. I have played as I think that we will liven up when we play it in this tour since recording. Rhythm makes us high itself and sound is ‘Bang bang! (With high tone).
All: (laugh)
Jungshin: I only imagine that we enjoy concerts with audiences, I become exciting.
Jonghyun: Yonghwa hyung made this song, it’s really good song! I love it!
Jungshin: I love it, too!
Minhyuk: Me too (laugh)

-About “Lady” loved by all, please tell me the episodes of production, the creator, Yonghwa-san?
Yonghwa: I made this song in March or April this year to try to harmonize old style and current style. In reality, I could make it more difficult, but I made it with imagine we play it in live concerts. That’s why this song became simple without complicated sounds I piled up first.
Jungshin: But playing is so difficult.
Yonghwa: Just it’s simple by and large; I dared to use difficult phrases to give importance sounds one by one.
Jungshin: It was hard for me….
Yonghwa: “Lady” was complete early at almost same time as “Don’t care” and “Monday”, but after we finished mixing it, we corrected the latter half of this song or corrected some when bass part recording, and put the correction up. So we took more time for recording.
Jungshin: During my recording, Yonghwa hyung was there all the time. I finished recording at 5 am, Yonghwa hyung had worked until over 6 am. I’m really sorry for him for sleepiness.

-Then, what did Jonghyun-san and Minhyuk-san do?
Minhyuk: I finished my recording then, so though I send him yelling support ‘Keep it up, Jungshin~’ in my mind, I was sleeping at home (laugh)
Jonghyun: Because of his shooting of drama, Jungshin was recording the last. I always do it later than him. I relaxed at home with feeling achieved recording.
Yonghwa: If they had been then, they would have had nothing to do (laugh)
Jonghyun: No doubt we might become in their way (laugh)

-What are contents of lyrics?
Yonghwa: In the lyrics, a man approached a woman earlier. (The lyrics express a man who approached a woman he falls in love at first sight and his feeling that bursts into flame at once.)

-Are these about you?
Yonghwa: (immediately) No (laugh). Our songs hadn’t had such Japanese lyrics. I imagined that the lyrics suit the atmosphere of this song in my mind.

-What is a main point when listening ‘Don’t Care’?
Yonghwa: This song is also simple, but in contrast to strong sound ‘Lady’, it’s impressive acoustic warm sounds.
Jonghyun: This song contained a lot of guitar parts at first, but we were cutting sounds as ‘Lady’, finally, some guitar parts are cut (laugh). But an atmosphere of the song is very good.
Yonghwa: In the lyrics, we are blessed and supported many people and fans, so we happily live. Because, we’ll also live from now on as we appreciate them. And everyone who is listening this song doesn’t live alone. You’re all right because we are close to you. This song directly expresses these feeling.

-We are given strong brave. I’m sure that fans have same thought.
Yonghwa: I hope so.

-Next, please tell us a main point when listening ‘Monday’.
Yonghwa: We aren’t working with periodic schedule, but I suppose that most students and workers feel a gloom like ‘I have to go to school (office) tomorrow~’ at Sunday night, so I wrote them as lyrics.

-Were you so when you’re students?
All: Yes, we were.
Yonghwa: There is a national program ‘Gag concert’ at 9pm~10pm on Sundays. At the ending of this, I was persistently said ‘Go to bed soon because you go to school tomorrow’ by parents.
Jonghyun: It’s the worst (laugh)
Yonghwa: So ending song stirred up our bad feelings (laugh)
All: Tattata~tattatata~ (started to sing)
Jungshin: What’s a name of this song? (All thinking)
Minhyuk: (he searched by iPhone) It’s ‘Part-time Lover’ by Stevie Wonder! (played back at it)
All: Oh yes~!
Yonghwa: Bands play this song live every times, although it’s really good song, our imagine…
Jungshin: Time slot is bad (laugh)

-Indeed. By the way, how did you spend on Sundays back at your schooldays?
Jonghyun: I would go to the church with friends and go home after lunch. ( I’m really curious if he’s really Christian)
Jungshin: I played with friends, anyway.
Yonghwa: Me, too.
Minhyuk: I used to go to the public bath in Sunday morning once in two weeks. After then, I played with friends.
Yonghwa: My family ate ramen as breakfast. Mother wants a rest in Sunday, so we made do with instant noodle different usual (laugh) But I’m glad because I like it.
Jungshin: Ah~ I want to eat ramen.
Minhyuk: I want to eat ramen, too!
Jonghyun: Yeah! Me, too! (Well, CNBLUE’s the most fav topic, FOOD!!!)

-All of you love ramen.
Jonghyun: I look forward to eating ramen when we come to Japan.

-I see. You are active from morning even in Sunday.
Minhyuk: I had slept until 10 am.
Yonghwa: Talking of Sunday, it starts from 10 am,
Jungshin: Oh, it’s ‘Surprise’!
Yonghwa: I go out after I watch the TV program.
Jonghyun: ‘Surprise’ is also popular program all Korean know. If we don’t watch ‘Gag concert’ and ‘Surprise’, we can’t join others’ talk when we go to school Monday.
Yonghwa: And ‘A farm of animals’ , ‘Sunday rounds off’.
All : Oh there were~!

How they spent summer vacation back in their schooldays……

-Now, Japanese students are during summer vacation, how did you spend your summer vacation back in your schooldays?
Minhyuk: I went to my friends’ house and slept over or played.
Yonghwa: Didn’t you go to catch cicadas?
Minhyuk: No, I didn’t. And I sometimes went to school and played soccer there.
Jungshin: Did you get sunburned?
Minhyuk: Yes, but I was in almost friends’ house, so I didn’t become so black.

-How about you, Jonghyun-san?
Jonghyun: I’m a marine man. There is the sea 30 seconds from my house, so I swam with friends every day, went home and eat lunch, and slept… such days.
Jungshin: Did you get sunburned?
Jonghyun: A little. But my skin became only red, turned white soon.
Jungshin: Ah~ I envy you.

-Jungshin-san is interested in sunburn from some time ago (laugh)
Jungshin: My skin becomes black immediately, moreover, doesn’t turn white. So I really envy them (the other member).

-How about you, Yonghwa-san?
Yonghwa: There are many mountains in my home town, Busan. There is a mountain behind my house, so I climbed it with my father. He plays rock-climbing. He climbed even Himalaya.

-That’s full-blown.
Yonghwa: He came back to home a year later.

-Then, how about you, Jungshin-san?

Jungshin: I changed hair color during summer vacation.
Jonghyun: He was a bad boy (laugh).
Jungshin: No, I’m not (laugh). I couldn’t do so when I go to school, so I had my hair dyed gaudy only during summer vacation.
Jonghyun: He was a punk (laugh).
Jungshin: No, I’m not (laugh). It’s expensive to go beauty parlor, my hair can’t be dyed as I expect, so we dyed hair with my friends each other.
Yonghwa: Ah~ I long for those days. We do so by ourselves, brow and ears become dirty (laugh).
Jungshin: But we gradually knew the trick because we did so every years! Dye, dry, dye, dry, we do like it; we can dye hair deep color.
Yonghwa: Also, cheap coloring agents can make more gaudy, such as ‘Yang Kuei Fei’.
Jungshin: Ah~ there was! It’s 300 yen!
Jonghyun: It’s the cheapest!
Jungshin: But I used it when I put my hair back previous color at 2 days ago new term starts.
Jonghyun: He was a punk as I expected (laugh).
Jungshin: No! (laugh)

-Well, please summarize, Yonghwa-san.
Yonghwa: Jungshin is a punk (laugh).
Jungshin: Even Yonghwa hyung…… (Looked at Minhyuk)
Minhyuk: I’m okay with either (laugh).
Yonghwa: Anyway, this summer is hot because we hold tour in Japan and appear ‘SUMMER SONIC 2013’. We want to show ‘Lady’ at live concerts as soon as possible. Let’s liven up together~!

oricon style lady20

『Zepp Tour』を行っているCNBLUEが、6thシングル「Lady」をリリースした。今回は、メンバーが学生時代を振り返り、休日や夏休みの過ごし方についても語ってくれました。

――6枚目のシングル「Lady」が完成しましたが、「Lady」の聴きどころを教えてもらえますか?

【イ・ジョンシン】 僕は ベースなので、やっぱり聴きどころは、僕のベースラインです(笑)。この曲は、レコーディングのときにいろいろ考えながら録ったので、夜の9時ぐらいから 朝の5時までかかったんです。レコーディングしているときから、今回のライブツアーでやったらすごく盛り上がるだろうなと思って演奏していました。リズム そのものがとても盛り上がるリズムですし、サウンドも(ハイトーンで)“パンパンッ”。
【一同】 (笑)
【ジョンシン】 観客のみなさんと一緒に楽しんでいる姿を想像するだけで、ワクワクしてきます。
【イ・ジョンヒョン】 この曲はヨンファ兄さんが作ってくれたんですけど、本当にいい曲!大好きです!
【ジョンシン】 僕も好き!
【カン・ミンヒョク】 僕も(笑)。

――みんなから愛されている「Lady」について、生みの親であるヨンファさんから制作エピソードを教えてください。

【ジョン・ヨンファ】 こ の曲は、昔っぽいスタイルと今のスタイルを融合させようと思って、今年の3月か4月ぐらいに作ったんです。本当はもっと難解な感じに作ることもできたんで すけど、ライブで演奏することをイメージして作ったので、最初に重ねた音をどんどん省いていって、結果シンプルな構成になりました。
【ジョンシン】 でも、演奏は結構難しいです。
【ヨンファ】 全体的にシンプルだからこそ、1つひとつの音に重みをもたせられたらいいなと思って、あえて今回は難しいフレーズを散りばめました。
【ジョンシン】 大変でした……。
【ヨンファ】 「Lady」は、2曲目の「Don’t Care」「Monday」とほぼ同時期に、曲自体は結構早く出来たんですけど、mixを終えたあとに、後半部分を直したり、ジョンシン君のベースを録っ ているときに直したり、その直したのをまたくっつけたりして、今回は今まで以上に時間をかけてレコーディングしたんです。
【ジョンシン】 僕がレコーディングしているときもずっとヨンファ兄さんがついていてくれたんですけど、僕が朝の5時にベースを録り終わって、そのあともヨンファ兄さんは作業で6時すぎまでかかってしまって、眠い中、本当に申し訳なかったなって。

――そのときジョンヒョンさんとミンヒョクさんは?

【ミンヒョク】 僕は、そのときには自分のパートのレコーディングは録り終えていたので、「ジョンシン頑張って~」ってパワーを送りつつ、家でグッスリ寝ていました(笑)。
【ジョンヒョン】 今回はジョンシンのドラマの撮影の関係で、ジョンシンが一番最後の録りになったんです。いつもならば、僕のほうがジョンシンよりも後にレコーディングするんですけど、今回は先だったので、レコーディングを終えた達成感のなか、僕も家でのんびりくつろいでました。
【ヨンファ】 まあ、2人がいてもやることないしね(笑)。
【ジョンヒョン】 確かに、僕らがいても邪魔になるだけですし(笑)。

――歌詞の内容は?

【ヨンファ】 歌詞は、男性のほうから先に女性にアタックをするという内容になっています。(※ひと目惚れした女性に果敢にアタックする男性の姿、一気に燃え上がっていく熱い心情を描いています)

――ヨンファさん自身、そうなんですか?

【ヨンファ】 (即答で)いいえ(笑)。今までこういう歌詞は日本の曲にはなかったのと、この曲の雰囲気にはこの歌詞が合うかなと思って、頭の中でイメージして描きました。

――2曲目の「Don’t Care」の聴きどころは?

【ヨンファ】 この曲もシンプルな仕上がりになっているんですけど、強いバンドサウンドの「Lady」とは対照的に、アコースティックの温かなサウンドが印象的です。
【ジョンヒョン】 最初はギターが結構入っていたんですけど、「Lady」と一緒でどんどん音数を減らしていったら、最終的にギターもたくさんカットされました(笑)。でも、曲全体の雰囲気がとてもいいので、いい感じになったと思います。
【ヨンファ】 また歌詞では、僕らは本当恵まれていて、 たくさんの人、友だちやファンに支えられて幸せに生きている。だからこそ、支えてくれる人たちに感謝しながら、これからも生きていきたい。そして、僕達だ けでなく、聴いてくれるみなさんも決してひとりで生きているのではなく、僕たちがいるから大丈夫だよという想いを遠回しではなく、直接的に描いています。

――力強い勇気をもらえますね。きっとファンの人も同じ気持ちでしょうし。

【ヨンファ】 そうだとうれしいです。

――続いて「Monday」の聴きどころもお願いします。

【ヨンファ】 僕たちは定期的なスケジュールで動く人間じゃないんですけど、普通の学生さんとか会社員のみなさんは、やはり日曜日の夜というのは、「あ~明日からまた学校だ~」「会社だ~」と、ちょっと憂鬱な気持ちになるんじゃないかと思い、その心情を歌詞に書きました。

――みなさんも日曜日の夜はそうでした?

【一同】 はい。
【ヨンファ】 韓国で10年ぐらい続いている『ギャグコンサート』という日曜日の夜9時~10時にやっている国民的長寿番組があるんですけど、そのエンディングテーマが流れると、両親から「明日学校なんだから、早く準備して寝なさい」って毎回うるさく言われるんです。
【ジョンヒョン】 もう、最悪です(笑)。
【ヨンファ】 だから、エンディングテーマは、嫌な気分を煽る曲なんです(笑)。
【一同】 タッタタータッタタター(歌い出す)。
【ジョンシン】 なんて曲名だったっけ?(一同考える)
【ミンヒョク】 (iPhoneで調べて)スティービー・ワンダーの「パートタイムラバー」だ!(音を流す)
【一同】 あっそうそう~。
【ヨンファ】 毎回生バンドでその曲を演奏するんですけど、すごくいい曲なのにイメージが……。
【ジョンシン】 やる時間帯が悪いです(笑)。

――確かに。ちなみにみなさんが学生時代、日曜日はどんな過ごし方をしてましたか?

【ジョンヒョン】 僕は友達と教会に行って、そのあとご飯を食べて帰ってました。
【ジョンシン】 僕はとにかく友達と遊んでました。
【ヨンファ】 僕も。
【ミンヒョク】 僕はお父さんと2週間に1回、日曜日の朝、銭湯に行って、そのあと友達と遊ぶのが習慣でした。
【ヨンファ】 僕の家は、朝食がラーメンでした。お母さんも日曜日はお休みしたいから、ご飯もいつもと違って、即席ラーメンで済まされました(笑)。でも、僕は好きだから、うれしかったです。
【ジョンシン】 あ~ラーメン食べたいな~。
【ミンヒョク】 ラーメン食べたい!
【ジョンヒョン】 ほんと!ラーメン食べたい!

――みんなラーメン大好きですね。

【ジョンヒョン】 毎回日本に来たら、ラーメンを食べるのが楽しみです。

――そうなんですね。でも、みなさん日曜日でも朝からアクティブに活動してるんですね。

【ミンヒョク】 僕はお昼、10時ぐらいまで寝てました。
【ヨンファ】 日曜日といえば、朝10時から始まる、
【ジョンシン】 あっ『サプライズ』だ!
【ヨンファ】 その番組を見てから出かけるんです。
【ジョンヒョン】 『サプライズ』も韓国の人がみんな知っている人気番組で。『ギャグコンサート』と『サプライズ』を見ていないと、月曜日に学校に行ったとき、みんなの話題についていけないんです。
【ヨンファ】 あと、『動物農場』とか、『日曜日は四捨五入』とか。
【一同】 あっ、あったね~!

メンバーそれぞれの学生時代の夏休みの過ごし方は……

――現在、日本の学生の人たちは夏休みまっただ中ですが、みなさんの学生時代の夏休みの過ごし方はどんな感じでしたか?

【ミンヒョク】 僕は友達の家に行って寝たり、遊んだり、
【ヨンファ】 せみ取りにはいかなかったの?
【ミンヒョク】 いかなかったです。あと、たまに学校に行ってサッカーをしていました。
【ジョンシン】 日焼けはしたの?
【ミンヒョク】 したけど、ほとんど友達の家にいたから、そんなに真っ黒にはならなかったと思う。

――ジョンヒョンさんの夏の過ごし方は?

【ジョンヒョン】 僕は、海の男でした。家から30秒ぐらいいったら海だったので、毎日友だちと海で泳いで、家に帰ってご飯食べて、疲れたら寝て……の毎日でした。
【ジョンシン】 日焼けはしたの?
【ジョンヒョン】 ちょっとだけ。でも、赤くなるだけで、すぐ白く戻ってましたね。
【ジョンシン】 あ~うらやましいな~。

――ジョンシンさんは、さきほどから日焼けに興味深々なようで(笑)。

【ジョンシン】 僕はすぐ黒くなってしまううえに、白く戻らないから、本当にうらやましいです。

――ヨンファさんの夏休みの過ごし方は?

【ヨンファ】 僕の地元の釜山には山がたくさんあって、実家の後ろにも山があったので、お父さんと一緒に山登りをしていました。お父さんは、ロッククライミングをしていて、ヒマラヤまで行ったほどなんです。

――それは本格的ですね。

【ヨンファ】 そして、お父さんがヒマラヤに行って帰ってきたのは、1年後でした。

――では、ジョンシンさんの夏休みの過ごし方は?

【ジョンシン】 夏休みになると、ヘアーカラーをチェンジしてました。
【ジョンヒョン】 不良です(笑)。
【ジョンシン】 違います(笑)。学校に行っているときはできないので、夏休みの間だけ派手な色に染めていました。
【ジョンヒョン】 ヤンキーです(笑)。
【ジョンシン】 違います(笑)。美容院に行くと高いし、自分の思った色に染まらなかったりするので、友だち同士でヘアカラーの薬を買ってきて、お互いに染めあっていました。
【ヨンファ】 あ~懐かしい~。自分たちでやると、耳やおでこについちゃったりするんだよね(笑)。
【ジョンシン】 でも、毎年やってるから、どんどんコツをつかんでくるんです。1回染めて、乾かして、また染めて、乾かしてっていう風にやっていくと、いい感じで濃い色が出るんです。
【ヨンファ】 しかも、安いカラー剤のほうが派手な色が出たりするんだよね。「楊貴妃」とか。
【ジョンシン】 あ~あったね。300円!
【ジョンヒョン】 一番安いです!
【ジョンシン】 でも、「楊貴妃」は、僕は染めるときじゃなく、学校がはじまる2日前に、髪色を戻すときに使ってましたね。
【ジョンヒョン】 やっぱりヤンキーです(笑)。
【ジョンシン】 違います(笑)。

――では、ヨンファさん、まとめてください。

【ヨンファ】 ジョンシンは、ヤンキーです(笑)。
【ジョンシン】 ヨンファ兄さんまで……(ミンヒョクを見る)
【ミンヒョク】 僕はどっちでもいいと思います(笑)。
【ヨンファ】 とにかく今年の夏は、日本でのツアーや『SUMMER SONIC 2013』への出演とライブ三昧の熱い夏です。「Lady」をライブで披露したくてウズウズしているので、みなさん一緒に盛り上がりましょう~!

Source Oricon Style

Trans by Satsuki @ cnboice

Edited and Posted by Tara Lee @ cnboice/bpb decoded

Author: tara lee

Author @StorialCo and AsianFanfiction. Founder Mr. Galaxy Fanfan House and CNBOICE, co Admin @Indonesianboice. Find my books The Stars | In Between | Through the Lens | Burning Melody at nulisbuku.com Find me @lanhudiee

Leave a Reply

