CNBOICE

Because when CNBLUE meets Boice, it creates CNBOICE.

Trans: Marie Claire January Issue 2014 – Jonghyun-

Leave a comment

Lee Jonghyun who finished his filming ahead of schedule take guitar.

He is the guitarist and vocalist of CNBLUE.

If you have not heard the song ‘I’m A Loner’,  you must have left Korea or you might be cloistered.

After their debut that left a deep impression on us, CNBLUE had not had even a day off.

Their album ‘First Step’ and mini-album ‘Re:Blue’ was released. And then they still have an Arena tour in Japan, and they also have a World tour that started in London.
This New year, CNBLUE have planned to go to NY, LA and South America, but Jonghyun has prepared for his solo activity during this tight schedule.

The duet song with Juniel ‘Love Falls’ is his first song that was shown “Musician Lee Jonghyun”.

“I wanted a song for the winter. I thought it was a good song for a duet with a woman singer. But I didn’t realize I had a sister who is good at singing. We are close in age but I thought she was like my sister. Working together filled my heart. ‘ We’ve grown up’ (Laugh)”

Actually music is not his first challenge.
He is good at sports, especially Judo, so he got a gold medal at a game when he was in middle school.
His parents accepted his dream as a musician although he was talented in sports.

“My parents don’t read me a lecture and don’t leash me in. They said that it is good for me to have a lot of experience. But they don’t support me strongly, so I think I have a high level of self-reliance.
I have to do all things by myself, I have to control myself. I always thought so. After I started working, I gave my credit card to my parents but they have not used it. It seems that they don’t want to put a strain on me. I think it is our style. Good.”

It seems his parents have made him believe that they would carry through rather than to watch him on the set sidelines.

When we talk with him, we can understand that.
He is a person with a healthy aura. He always does his best but doesn’t care about achievements.
He only regrets once if he has failed. He is an outspoken young man to think that it’s best to be able to do what he wants to do with the people who he likes.
“I found acting to be fun, different from music while acting for the first time in the drama, ‘A gentleman’s dignity’.”

“Honestly, 24 hours a day is not enough to me even if the activity is only for CNBLUE.

Because the more I spend in time for acting, there is no time for music. I’ll do my best for everything though, even if I don’t have a lot of greed and ambition. I thank to these days that I can do what I want”
Juniel who heard that said

“When CNBLUE was formed, I asked Jonghyun oppa if he wanted to do lead vocals. Jonghyun oppa said I’ll leave the lead vocals to Yonghwa. I only want to do music.’
But he works to compose until the morning. I have no idea whether he has greed or not.”

The truth of ‘Morning work’ was that.

“Actually the work was almost finished around 6:00 am. But staff would come to the office around 9 o’clock, so I waited them to come and I went back home.
If nobody noticed this, my feelings would not be satisfied (Laugh)”

CNBLUE is famous for the good relationship between members. Juniel said this too.

“Members gather and play a game even if they are having a day off. It seems that they don’t get bored with seeing each others faces.”

Before their official debut in Korea, they had live performances in Japan and strengthened their abilities.
They have experienced street lives with a small audience.
Fellowship and partnership has grown more firmly while having a hard time.
If being able to do what he wants to do with the people he likes is Jonghyun’s style, it could be said his dreams already came true.

“The members will be by my side forever. We will support each other without any conditions.”

Source: Marie Claire January 2014 Issue

Translated by Satomami @cnboice

Posted by Linda @cnboice

Leave a Reply

