CNBOICE

Because when CNBLUE meets Boice, it creates CNBOICE.

tenasia Star_2015-3(5)

CNBLUE Jung Yonghwa Interview in 10Star Asia Magazine 2015 March Issue

Leave a comment

SONGWRITER
JONGHYUN . JUNG YONGHWA . NIEL

tenasia Star_2015-3(1)

From group to solo, a solo songwriter It’s a craze among boy group nowadays to go solo. Previously, many boy group member started activities either going solo or unit or creating change. But starting from Big Bang Taeyang, Super Junior Kyuhyun, Shinee Taemin, Block B Zico and others spreaded brisk as solo act. They are called “re-discovery” and portrayed a different image from their group and showed competency with no regret. In 2015, craze of member going solo is still in. Shinee Jonghyun, CNBLUE Jung Yong Hwa, Teen Top Niel are main actors. We already knew clearly their stage presence and now they sang their own composed songs, that’s their main appeal.

“So far people feeling the emotion and healing through my music. When I am down I am that way, I didn’t try to reveal my music, but later when I heard what kind of songs was worth to be heard, that’s how I plan to think twisty once.”

Through your own solo album, you feel this as your most certified work.
Rather than feeling certified. I feel like because I worked hard in making the songs, I received my payment. I heard lots of saying “This is good” around me. It will be better to think what I can give to people. Next time also, through good songs, I will develop to hear that kind of words more.

Creator is someone who has the power to feel at least two things continuously. It was fun when make it, or when it all completed you feel the thrill by receiving cheers from the audiences. Which side Jung Yong Hwa is?
Both are. I think I will be through both at the same time. If, I worked hard to create it but did not turn well, (I) will be difficult. I will be work hard more to receive lots of love. What I like the most, I do it because it’s enjoyable. When I don’t feel like it anymore. I will fold it over. When I want to do it, I will.

There is a period when you are no longer wants to do it.
Firstly, I do when I am tired. So when having loaded activities I don’t write. When all activities halted, soon I started working again. I couldn’t write continuously. It’s not like a pressing a vending machine button (songs) will come out. For now, I tried to write songs for one more album, but will it be suitable for the album, I’ll try to fix it later.

In ‘One Fine Day’ album case, from all songs in your album, is there any song that is a combination from other?
There are songs that are newly written and also revised. ‘Checkmate’ already written in the beginning, melody for ‘Mileage’ was made later.

Talks about ‘Mileage’ has come up, I heard that the songs portrayed what man these days think. All has been harmonized but that not what I mean, ‘Poor Diaper Shower’ and so the lyrics impression seems ‘tough’.
‘Mileage’ is written based on empathy of what happened in the society. (Lyrics) are not unpretentious.

Your solo album seems to overtake CNBLUE ‘Can’t Stop’ album, if the vibe in previous “Can’t Stop” album is an image of “Delicate Boy”, in ‘One Fine Day’ album seems changing to ‘A Cool Man’ or ‘Not Cool Kids are Staying’.
Yes, it’s right. However you see CNBLUE album looks like more furnished. Explanation is also that way. It was CNBLUE activities after all not me alone, I had common thought like that. Moreover seeing CNBLUE sight, I already think of the thought (solo album and) should be certain distinction. It was different system when writing every songs, but there are lots of things going on in my head so just, following where my hands going.

Perhaps, you are in the side of receiving inspiration while looking at scenery? When listening to your songs, we got the feel of a picture of scenery being painted from your songs. Although its wind or sky hovering some time we can capture natural image for sure, melody really lighten spaciousness.
Not till inspiration, but I liked those kind of things. Also while making music, I thought of how people could feel in certain season through it. ‘One Fine Day’ is a cold night, ‘Can’t Stop’ was a season changing from winter to spring.

We heard that your solo album has been concepted since 2 years ago. Is there a meter of that?
I keep on making CNBLUE songs and I also did what I want to do and there is a synergy in between. I seemed to have trapped in that. At that time I want to go hard. . . and I’ve tried many other things too. But as time passes by, those differences created music.

You said you have to make your album and thoughts of time and recent relationship, are you mentally change?
Lots of it. Especially when I look at something, music or personal life, difficult time of this and that also existed. But it all can’t be avoided. I have to fix it, that’s how life is. As time goes by. It will be okay.

You have lots of stress.
Receiving lots of (Stress) but I cannot be exposed by that. Drawing empathy from other people and giving influence as a job, I am on the side which passionately concealed those feelings. When writing songs I am not as a singer but just Jung Yong Hwa whom melted people’s heart emotionally, and I am getting closer to what audiences wanted to listen. Singer Jung Yong Hwa and the real I are different in the beginning.

In the beginning what kind of Jung Yong Hwa style will appear while making music?
I am very sharp. The genre, also conversation. (smile) I am just keep on (squat position) because I am not overweight. When I pissed off and throwing tantrum, it was real. But even I really pissed off, the song didn’t really pouring out well. That’s why I hate it more. Till now people who are listening to my music feel emotionally well and healing. When I am down I’m like that, I didn’t mean to reveal my music, but when I heard about what kind of songs would people loved, that once will twist and I’ll think about that.

One thing that is interesting, ‘Ski Resort’s Good-Looking Guy’ pictures wake the entertainment industry in the foot who are behind, paying tailored to your music.
The chance to access to music were many when I was a kid. I learned piano and clarinet, as well as vocal. I keep on doing music and getting closer to it, but I don’t have any thought of doing music as a job. When I was in 3rd year of junior high, it was the first time I received a demo program and started making songs.

Becoming a singer is not because of luck.
Of course, there is luck in it. At school time I thought Seoul was distant from here. Because of that I cannot think of becoming a celebrity at all. When I received a call from “Seoul Person” at first and wanted to cast me, I thought he was lying. I am just a frog in a well. If not because of the chance I might not think of it once.

Aa! Not long ago we did a luck and psychological test regarding it. . .
(Before we finished the question) Oo, I really liked those kind of things.

This is first time ever we did a psychological test while interviewing, Haha. Okay, let’s start. Your friend held a home party in his house. But in your way, you mistakenly dropped the cake that you’ve already prepared before. What will you do in that time? No.1, you throw the crushed cake and going to buy a new one. No.2, I eat the crushed cake, and going to buy a new one. No.3, just bring the cake and you will said, “Although it crushed, let’s just eat it together.”
No.1

Really, no.1 is your answer? The result of no.1 is, ‘You can’t think of a chance of misfortune, but you will think on how to overcome misfortune.’
Woah, it is true! I’m like that. No, luck is luck and if bad luck think of it as bad luck. True. But who will eat the crushed cake (in Busan accent). Aa, but I dropped the cake? I will tell everyone that I dropped the cake. So, I’m thinking of bringing the crushed cake over with me then. I am not buying a new one.

So the result is different though. No.3 Absolutely an accident that can’t forecasted, you turn a mistake into a luck. Because it an unpredictable incident you won’t take it negatively and said, “It’s alright, what could I do” you comfort yourself and encouragement time.
I think I am like that. But now I think I am forcibly under hypnotherapy and so I am. I am a mix of no.1 and no.3. I think like (no.1), but act like (no.3). That’s the thing I will do after all. But is it the only psychological test available? We should do it more. (smile). I couldn’t really understand the problem and I am feeling sad. Cake box, I understand that part! I think I should read tarot in the morning.

Do you like tarot kind of thing?
No, I never been there once. So I would like to go. That kind of saying really made you want to believe. Haha. This year’s misfortune, I think maybe it will happen.

So we should tell a nice talk beside you. So it will becoming good thing.
Of course. But now I am shuffling on not believing what people’s talk.

How about this year’s horoscopes prediction?
It will be good . . . It’s all good till now and I wish it will be like that all year long.

Do you on the side of feeling doubt? Although there is good thing happen you don’t seems like accepting just like that.
True, I have lots of doubts. So just like the previous psychological test I choose no.1, but I forcibly do it like no.3. I tried to think positively.

Do you have your future plan inside your head and ever imagine it?
I do imagined it, but there are also thing that I couldn’t imagine. At that time those things are going to crush. That kind of moment . . I tried to seek for help from anyone because it is still better than doing it myself.

MBC ‘Golden Fishery-Radio Star’ your company representative Han Seong Ho CEO said, “Yonghwa is trapped now”. When look at yourself now, looks like you’ve been drawn to be in line, but inside you acquired your own freedom. But if you out of it, do you have any thoughts on getting your own?
I don’t like getting on my own. After having fun and the next day,”I played well, no regret” not this kind of character but ‘What have I done, blaming self’ this kind of character, I don’t want to make any more fuss about it. I want to go without any regrets, but that’s now who I am. Rather than ‘Why I did that?’ but ‘Why did I played, why.’ Also the work I wanted to do soon seems like I can’t do it anymore. Why did I get out? I always keep this in thoughts and I am lacking off.

If we look at Yonghwa in one side seems not very comfortable with the situation. Later it will be nice to see you write and eat, we’re full with that thought already.
That kind of thoughts, I think of it a lot. But (I do this kind of work) always like a ‘candle’ I have to be there.

Citing ‘It’s Okay’ thoughts, sometimes you want to switch but you are mad of yourself.
Yes. If it’s occurred, I just sleep. If I’m not sleeping I just keep on thinking other stuff that I have to do, best thing is to sleep. I have experience other, but sleep is the best. So, the thoughts disappear.

You are entering 27 this year, 6 years counting since you debuted as singer. In the society holding an annual event to fill the firewood that slowly showing the floor again that been burnt all this time. Where do you want to put the firewood?
Aa. . . I don’t have any thoughts of it. Just me… still me, I don’t think of showing it all, when reaching 30s I’ll think about it again.

Do you think there would be any difference from twenties to thirties?
Haaa… it’s nearing (thirties) already. Haha. Different of course. That time I will worry of other things. I think I would be comfortable with my job than now.. But I don’t know. The time flew fast.

“My twenties vibe looks like a ‘pirate ship’. It’s not smooth sailing. When the time comes to fight it will turnover, over and over again, that kind of pirate ship. Sometimes we have to be a fox, sometimes later we have to be a bear, and it’s very difficult. To live in this world it’s not an easy job.”

Jung Yong Hwa now is in twenties cruise?
My twenties vibe looks like a ‘pirate ship’. It’s not smooth sailing. When the time comes to fight it will turnover, over and over again, that kind of pirate ship. Sometimes we have to be a fox, sometimes later we have to be a bear, and it’s very difficult. To live in this world it’s not an easy job. I wanted to befriend with the society but.. It’s important to find people like magnet. It’s difficult to express this.

If its magnet it might be pushing each other. More to N pole that is pulling S pole.
Stick to pushing, properly attached. With the people that not matching wanted to walk in distance, but (N pole and N pole) there are times when both tried to stick to each other.

So it’s like that. To live in the society.
That kind of things are difficult.

So that time, so you will reveal you feeling?
No, I don’t know about people much. Who knew what’s inside. But I can reveal it with my childhood friends. Because I met them since long time ago.. After all, time is the power.

When is the moment of your life that you want to capture? The fun or tough moment, the time that you want to recall.
School time. Not that I think about that time every day is very fun. Just go to school every day, especially everyday becoming memories. I don’t want to go back to that time, because I am not a person that cannot live an ordinary day to day life.

Still, these days lots of young kids started their trainee period since they were kids and debuted, they skipped their abundance school time to become a singer.
At that time, I don’t think about music only but everything else too and I gave lots of help. I feel proud. Of course if you had an early start as singer there are plus factor in it but as time goes by there are lots of good things too. And all the time passes by … happy.

If that time didn’t exist, how will Jung Yong Hwa be now?
A big trouble. (laugh)

tenasia Star_2015-3(6)

Scanned by YfFTW

Trans by Yasmine @cnboicee

Posted by Tara Lee @cnboicee

Author: tara lee

Author @StorialCo and AsianFanfiction. Founder Mr. Galaxy Fanfan House and CNBOICE, co Admin @Indonesianboice. Find my books The Stars | In Between | Through the Lens | Burning Melody at nulisbuku.com Find me @lanhudiee

Leave a Reply

