CNBOICE

Because when CNBLUE meets Boice, it creates CNBOICE.

[TRANS] CNBLUE “Puzzle” Interview with eXcite MUSIC Japan

Leave a comment

06_0101_01

 

CNBLUE’s first wedding song “Puzzle” finally released, and the official interview published

 

CNBLUE will release a new single, “Puzzle” on May 11th  which will be their 10th single. It become the band’s first wedding song.

 

Having 10th single on the 5th year anniversary of your debut is completed! It’s a sweet pop song, but what is the theme?

Yonghwa : Frankly speaking, it’s “Wedding Song”. On our 5th year Japan debut anniversary I have thought that it’s interesting if I have one song about wedding to be included to the album, so I take it as a challenge. I tried to make pop melodies and lyrics with a story, but also linked to the visual, such as a CD jacket and MV, or if you want to show a happy time, such as love and marriage, to your important person by listening to a song? CNBLUE’s “Wedding Song” can be the choice!

Jungshin : It is refreshing, but also has a pleasant sound to portray the early summer. When I first heard it, I honestly thought that it’s a good song.

Jonghyun : Yeah, it’s really good. The melody also easy listening and catchy, it’d likely be exciting to be performed live!

Minhyuk  : The song makes me move and feel the energy. It has such a bright atmosphere, I like it.

 

There were a lot of songs which made such a “conflict” to be picked as the theme around Japanese debut, but later the theme about love song follows in your Japan and Korean songs recently, doesn’t it? Is a love song is booming for you now, Yonghwa?

Yonghwa : It doesn’t mean it’s booming, especially for me, but because this time the theme is about “The Wedding Song” so it’s necessarily match with love songs.

 

When is that ‘turning’ time (to decide the song theme)?

Yonghwa : Actually, it’s rusted. I got the feeling like “it’s surely will become a good song”. Since “fancy/colorful lead song” thought was in my head, so I think that this song must be catchy. The arrangement is bright, the music elements consist of 60% upper band sound and 40% dance music. So CNBLUE’s band sound isn’t the main of it.

 

Yonghwa, the member said in a Japan fan meeting that you are “not likely into a marriage”, but do you have any desire for marriage?

Yonghwa : Hmmm, this situation (talking) about marriage is what I’m worried about! But, work is fun (laughs). Music is my top priority for now, I don’t have thoughts about marriage……. But, I want to make a happy family! We’ll go to the supermarket as a family on Sunday.

 

Among the members, who do you think is the most likely to be a great husband?

All : (saying at the same time) of course that’s me!

Jonghyun : I like to make a  friendly-family the most.

Yonghwa : No no no, it’s me. I’ll protect my family! I love them! That’s me!

Minhyuk : I think it’s Yonghwa, it looks like he’ll certainly protect them (the family). But I think I’ll try to make a cherish family the most (laughs).

Jonghyun : Well, that’s it everyone!

 

Let’s leave it all to them (laughs). In Puzzle MV, the scene where Yonghwa-Minhyuk and Jonghyun-Jungshin exchanging glances is impressive.

Minhyuk : Well, I think you can watch it by yourself on the MV, we carefully staring at each other and it’s embarrassing (laughs). Or, like, when we were about going to avert our eyes/gazes, we came out to laugh so many times. But for me, Yonghwa is the one who wants to go around and see what happen to us (laughs).

Jonghyun : For me, it’s fun to look at Jungshin. Because he’s currently on shooting a drama so he focus to be really on act. That’s cool, good!

 

The MV scene was a reminiscent of the last December’s Budokan circular stage, right?

Jonghyun : Oh yeah, but it’s unusual when it comes to play it on an MV filming. But, I’ve been practicing it during the rehearsal. So, it became like usual for us. We can play it comfortably.

 

What do you think about the pieces that’s lacking on Puzzle?

Yonghwa : Of course, the music. It may be far from perfect, but the goal is to complete the “Puzzle” to anyone!

 

I also want to ask about the coupling song. Take Me Higher is made by Yonghwa, it’s close to the music impression during Japan debut, isn’t it?

Yonghwa : Yes. It’s also lead to our 5th Anniversary, we made it to remember where we begin. I think it has grown up a bit compared to the old days (songs), there are many dreams come true. But some is still longing/craving, like, there’s always a strong desire to exceed the great wall. Looking back to the past, while we make our vision to our own destination from now on.

 

And another one song, Jonghyun’s Be My Love, seems like a gentle-sweet love song, I wonder why the lyrics written in English? Also, what’s the essence that’s needed for a love song to Jonghyun?

Jonghyun : I was making a demo in English from time to time. This song may have more meaning by it’s words in Japanese, but because it’s better to sing it in your own words (in your preferred language) so it’ll be easier to control the emotions, feelings, and a delicate nuances, and I want to straightly convey the “poetic sentiment”. The essence…..when you make a love song you have to mash up the past, the reality, and the future in the delusion (laughs).

 

From May 22nd, SPRING LIVE 2016 We’re like a puzzle~』will start. Because the last Budokan concert in December was  great, we also expect the same for this time!

Yonghwa : I think it was a trance in Budokan, it’s me (laughs). It was really good and fun. I think the first important thing to do when doing live is to enjoy. But, the power of our fans can make us feel it also. We want to be ‘one’ with you all this time. It’s either made just like the other tour or what…..but there’s a hint to the latest “Puzzle” song (laughs).

 

Original article by eXcite MUSIC Japan

JP – ENG trans by alvianashin

 

Author: alvianashin

Addicted to rock bands and it's hotties. I travel when I have the chance❤️‍

Leave a comment