CNBOICE

Because when CNBLUE meets Boice, it creates CNBOICE.

[TRANS] 26072016 Kstyle News Interview – “CNBLUE Lee Jong Hyun Sparkling Debut! Swingy & Moody mid-summer night dream atmosphere for you”

Leave a comment

r.580x0

After celebrated and greeted audiences with the 5th “Anniversary Year” of CNBLUE’s Japan major debut, guitar & vocal Lee Jong Hyun now having his solo debut. He is going to release his 1st album “SPARKLING NIGHT“ on July 27th. The lead song “Moonlight Swing” is the best tune to swing your mood, if you listen to it, you’ll have no doubt that everyone is excited hearing this. More than that, he will have his first solo concert in August, which will show off his sparkling stage and plays. We will deliver such a pure interview of him, no edits or additional things!

Congratulations for you solo debut. This is the other new side of Lee Jong Hyun which hasn’t been shown in CNBLUE, but is this what you expect?

Jonghyun : When I see it from fans’ way (or, point of view), I think it’s fascinating to only see what you’re doing alone by yourself, I think it’s entertaining.

How about the music?

Jonghyun : In CNBLUE, we also do deep blues which we haven’t done before, but it has a little differences (from mine). The lead song (Moonlight Swing) has the swing, but it also has an addition of blues, but in CNBLUE we really do various kind of genres for songs. However, in CNBLUE we also dare to take the challenge and change (the genre or style) like, “ok, now we will show up like this”. But for mine, I’ll be like “I recently like this kind of music”, and then try to reflects that.

It seems like this album is packed with Lee Jong Hyun’s favorite musics (or, genre). Above all, you’re interested of blues on the inside.

Jonghyun : Because I’m a guitarist, I’ve thought so much that someday I’ll do blues. It’s my first time to have my own album, it’s my own pleasure. I’m looking forward to hear what everyone think when they hear the song(s), it’s a pleasant (for me). Originally, I like blues. When doing a jam (jamming), I’ll do/play blues. Particularly, when (I) do jamming, blues will just begin (to play), but not everyone do (or, into) blues, right? So when blues was sung and the music has just begun, I have the feeling that I went back into the high school days or go back into the end of teenage year.

You’ve been addicted to blues since high school?

Jonghyun : In general, (play music) from rock to blues has the feel, but I think it’s (an) unusual (pattern) if move from blues to rock. But for the people who are playing guitar, I think there are many who has the same type (or, taste of blues) like me.

Blues is heavy (kind of genre to be produced or played), isn’t this album need a deep of work from you?

Jonghyun : No, I don’t think so (laughs). It may have some songs that can be listened to relax. In an interview you will often ask me “What is the concept of this album?” In fact, I didn’t think too much that sort of concept while I made this album. The lead song’s concept of this album is the only thing that I care to, it has to be easy listening, to be played as their favorite songs (or, genre) with other songs, or to be tried (in order) to be explored and take various challenges (to make such music). Actually blues music that we talked earlier was made two years ago. At that time when I heard (or, got the tune), I record it on my iPhone. The iPhone itself may contain around 100 songs on it, but 5 of them was chosen to be included to the album.

Do you record it in iPhone in any situation?

Jonghyun : I also sing in airplane’s toilet (laughs). This album also has one song which was recorded in the toilet. Actually I need one more song to complete the album at that time, so I was thinking “Because there are 100 songs (on the iPhone), I have to try to make it fresh (or, produced it further into a full song). So when I did live in Nagoya on May, after finished the concert I go to the toilet and sang “La, La, La~”, it felt nice. I recorded the melody in the toilet, and play the guitar when got back to hotel. I also often to make the lyrics on airplane. It’s not wasting time, isn’t it? I wrote a lyric and a full song when I went to Europe in one way flights, which makes the time passed.

What is the difference between making a song for CNBLUE and making a song for your solo album?

Jonghyun : There’s no determiner/standard/concern (of writing lyrics for both). If you’re saying about “Moonlight Swing”, firstly, in fact it has a different (kind) of lyrics. I want it to be a love song which has the lyrics to be said like “to enjoy ourselves with everything without worrying about a thing even from under a stressful condition, just like a Peter Pan”, then I want to hear it a little more and rewrote (if there’s some lacks of the song), and after that decide it to be the lead song. If doing this (kind of) song to CNBLUE might be difficult. If give it to the band, it will be difficult in a musical way.

[I’m going to do my own music. It’s like a hobby and it’s like I’m doing fun/good things]

r.580x0a

Did you proceeded it from the time when your solo debut planned?

Jonghyun : Because last year was busy with drama and variety schedules, for this year I think I’ll do everything slowly. So at the beginning of the year, the other members said “why don’t you just work? We all are going to work, what are you going to play with?” half-jokingly. “No, last year I’ve been busy, I’d like to rest this year” I answered. But one day in February, I called the CEO in my office and ask “do I not work? Does the album can’t be out/issued in the summer?” He told me “You don’t have time to prepare”, the CEO refers to the song that has been recorded in iPhone, and I said “there’s also another song”. The song slightly has different images from the song (made) for CNBLUE. If it isn’t the good song which can be convinced, what do you want to do? So at that time I asked if I can try to made the song better by sending it to other composers. For example, “Moonlight Swing”, I also asked if the song can be offered (any help) to other person (composers), I thought I can’t make it (if didn’t offer the help of other composers). And then I came out making my solo album, I made it and study (the musics), and I think it’s fun.

From long time ago before this, is there any feeling that someday you want to have solo debut?

Jonghyun : No~ there wasn’t any. However I’ve never thought that I would have solo debut. But I also often hear the office asked me “When will it’s done?” so I’ll answer “I’ll finish it in a good/right timing”. The blues song was made two years ago. But among 100 songs in iPhone, there are 10 songs which didn’t recorded by myself.

Upon your solo debut, what kind of ‘yell’ that you got from the other members?

Jonghyun : I said “I’ll do a solo. Will do live also in August”, and Minhyuk responded “I’ll hit the drum” because actually he couldn’t do it before since he was busy shooting for a drama. Jungshin also said “I’ll write lyrics”, Yonghwa later said to me “Let’s make a song together”, but, guys, I (will) not do it in Korea. But maybe I’m willing to do it (in Korea) (laughs). I appreciate that.

Even so, with no support from other members, so it’s more into a self-produced (album)?

Jonghyun : I guess I’ve never thought myself as a producer. Because a producer will gather many staffs for the music itself, but for me, I’m doing my own music just by myself. It’s like I’m doing a hobby and funny thing(s).

I think there’s a feel of a singer-songwriter, isn’t it?

Jonghyun : No, there isn’t any feeling about it, at all. I don’t think “music is life”, but I’m just like the others who has the same way playing guitar as a hobby, and doing it because it’s fun.

On the last year’s fan meeting you also said that “music isn’t a job, turn it into a hobby”. When do you start to feel that way?

Jonghyun :  It’s from 3 years ago. Until then, I have the feeling that “I’m a guitarist, I’m living my life as a rock musician”, I also do music for other artists as a composer. However, when it comes to work, I feel more stress. At that time, if I get more stress, I might purely enjoy the guitar, and got idea(s), so since then, I thought “I’ll stop refers music as a job”.

So now you’re enjoy doing music?

Jonghyun : Yes. Earlier, I even feel a pressure on myself when I’m on stage, “I’ll show my best to everyone today”, and also think “It’s the worst!” if I get a little failure. But now we will laugh if we made mistake. It became such a good idea to not be limited to music.

Does being an actor in the industry is also a hobby?

Jonghyun : Of course, it is. I don’t want to think (of it) as a job.

Well, what if I ask you “what is your job?”

Jonghyun : Then I’ll answer “I’m not working. I’m playing” (laughs). I love to play, music and actor and fishing and snowboarding, I’m doing it in order to enjoy all of that. So, it all has become a hobby. For fishing, I recently fishing a flounder (laughs).

[Since I grew up in Busan, I think “romantic = sea”]

r.580x0b

“Moonlight Swing”, under the moonlight, but the song called…a dream come true. What is that you’re dreaming of right now?

Jonghyun : If anyone ask me “What’s your dream?”, then I’ll answer “I want to be like a normal people with a cool looks”. It might be a ridiculous dream…. Began to start (doing) music, was also the reason (for me) to looks cool. However, looking good = cool is different. People are all a good person in general, but is there anyone who have a good figure (also)? For example, Eric Clapton. So whether he looks so warm, I think I’m going to be like “I want to hug him!” Even during the live and if he had play on stage, or even he is outside the stage, he still looks like a nice person. I also want to be like that.

Although being warm, does have a little good-looking is ideal?

Jonghyun : Well, that would be best. Richie Kotzen (former guitarist of Mr. Big) is also great. He also enjoying music like it’s a fun thing on his life, yet he also looks cool.

In this song, you sing a romantic scene of a summer night. Please let us know a romantic night memories of summer that you have.

Jonghyun : I grew up in Busan, I guess “romantic = sea”. Because you can relax and go to the beach, and then go to the sea at night once you feel sad. When I was a junior high school student, I went to the sea together with my friends around 5.30 PM in the evening, we didn’t do anything, no speaking, I was watching the sun set all the way. Because while watching the sunset, I was in a deep emotion and think “during this life, do I just go around to see this?” I think it’s a bit like a funny thoughts (laughs).

When will you make your body and soul swing?

Jonghyun : When I think it’s fun. I also swing during live, it makes me want to dance when playing a fun song/tunes. I also danced on the PV, it was pretty fun.

Finally, in this summer, please tell us your idea about how to sparkling the fans.

Jonghyun : Please come to my solo live. I made a lot of songs to be enjoyed together with you, I think it can be sparkling while being played at the concert!

According to the straight response to the the interview at the studio and made such a cool pose, he conveyed his pure music and passion into words, without any edits. Even this time, we say Jonghyun is romantic. We told him and he respond, “Thank you. I want to be a romantic guy in all over the world,” and he laughed. We hope you’ll keep looking forward into the purely romantic rock musician’s first solo album and solo performances.

Source : Kstyle News

Trans by alvianashin @ 4cnboice

Author: alvianashin

Addicted to rock bands and it's hotties. I travel when I have the chance❤️‍

Leave a comment